Very sad news for all the vegetarians out there who are enjoying these cheeses and that includes myself. I stumbled across this post today and was shocked to discover the facts about them. Let me explain!
There are 5 cheeses currently that utilize "rennet" to help with the curdling process. Rennet is an enzyme found in the stomach lining of a calf to help them digest milk products. Unfortunately, using rennet in the curdling process actually makes the cheese a non vegetarian cheese. These 5 cheeses are:
As a Vegetarian, it's important to educate yourself and there will always be something new to learn. I've been a Vegetarian now for almost 16 years and this was news to me so it's definitely a learning process. I will be reading my ingredients a little better when I purchase any cheese the next time I visit the market and y'all should definitely do the same. It's going to be hard to stop using parmesan but I refuse to eat anything that involves the stomach lining of a slaughtered calf.
Jonathan - Happy Veg
Lover of a variety of things including cheese, fresh produce, and baby animals of all varieties.